Plainview Pirates Qualify Seven for State Tournament in Omaha

Those wishing to attend the State Wrestling Tournament at the CHI Center in Omaha should review the arena’s policies and NSAA rules at

Some tips on those rules include:
* Clear bag policy – 12”x12”x6” maximum, or small purses/wallets
* Video taping from seat on, no camera stands or tripods
* No banners, laser pointers, backpacks or coolers
* No outside food or drink, cans or bottles or other “projectiles”
* No weapons of any kind, including lawful concealed carry

The Plainview Pirate wrestling team traveled to Hebron for the Class D-3 District wrestling tournament over last weekend – qualifying seven young men for the State tournament to be held in Omaha this weekend.

The Pirates finished the District tournament with 144 team points, placing them in third overall, behind Elkhorn Valley’s 176.5 and Shelby-Rising City’s 150. Thayer Central was third with 129.5 and Ravenna finished off the top three teams with 122.5

Qualifying for the Pirate wrestling team – out of the 11 that took to the mat – were:
132: Jordan Mosel, 4th
138: Kyler Mosel, 1st
145: John Leija, 4th
152: Tanner Frahm, 1st
195: Grayson Petersen, 4th
220: Hayven Stewart, 4th
285: Xander Albin, 2nd

The State Championship individual tournament will begin this Thursday, Feb. 16 and conclude with the final matches on Saturday, with the championship finals being broadcast on Nebraska Public Television’s NET station.

Class D will begin right away at 9:30 a.m. on Thursday, Feb. 16, with quarterfinals to immediately follow.

Friday, Feb. 17 the Class D consolations will begin at 9 a.m.; and all semifinals and third-round will begin around 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 18 the Consolation semi-finals will begin at 9 a.m. for all classes, and continue through the day with the Championship Finals slated to begin around 3 p.m.

First round draws for the Pirates include:
132: Jordan Mosel (37-9) vs. Dylan Brichacek (40-3), Howells-Dodge
138: Kyler Mosel (49-0) vs. Emmerson Earl (28-21), Palmer
145: John Leijan (38-14) vs. Kason Bruns (36-14), Sutherland
152: Tanner Frahm (48-1) vs. Devon Schultz (35-14), Wisner-Pilger
195: Grayson Petersen (24-22) vs. Sid Miller (37-1), Anselmo-Merna
220: Hayven Stewart (30-20) vs. Tel Kvanvig (20-11), Mullen
285: Xander Albin (37-7) vs. Tristin Grim (27-22), Central Valley

Individual results from the District Tournament included:
113: Owen Dobler won with a bye; lost by pin to Wipf of Weeping Water and lost 8-7 to Turpitt of Shelby-Rising City. 
126: Jordan Mosel pinned Deeder of Newman Grove; lost 9-6 to Eckert of Elkhorn Valley; pinned Brown of Thayer Central; pinned Archer of Lyons-Decatur Northeast; pinned Twohig of Franklin and lost 13-3 in major decision to Rasmussen of Ravenna. Mosel took fourth-place.
138: Kyler Mosel won with a bye; pinned Davis of Franklin; pinned Higby of Clarkson-Leigh and pinned Halsey of Elkhorn Valley. Mosel won first-place.
145: John Leija pinned Jackson of Franklin; pinned Larsen of Ravenna; lost 9-6 to Huls of Meridian; won 5-3 over Shaffer of Elkhorn Valley and lost by medical forfeit to Larsen of Ravenna. Leija took fourth-place.
152: Tanner Frahm won with a bye; pinned Huls of Meridian; pinned Hatfield of Dorchester; pinned Fjell of Shelby-Rising City; and won 10-3 over Smith of Elkhorn Valley. Frahm won first-place.
160: Caden Ickler won with a bye; lost by pin to Huenefeld of Nebraska Christian and lost by pin to Eddy Alma. 
170: Wyatt Doerr pinned Jackson of Franklin; lost by pin to Silva of Shelby-Rising City; pinned Klement of East Butler; pinned McDonald of Weeping Water and lost 7-6 to Werner of Elkhorn Valley. 
182: Zach Cahill lost by pin to Garcia of Lyons-Decatur Northeast; won with a bye; won 7-3 over Oceguera of Friend and lost by pin to Borrego of Dorchester.
195: Grayson Petersen pinned Alcaide of Dorchester; lost by pin to Fjell of Shelby-Rising City; pinned Alegria of Dorchester; pinned Cole of Ravenna; won by medical foreit over Denzin of Freeman and lost by pin to Felix of Alma. Petersen won fourth-place.
220: Hayven Stewart won with a bye; pinned Peterson of Sutton; lost by pin to Whitley of Lyons-Decatur Northeast; pinned Gall of Clarkson-Leigh and lost by pin to Vrbka of Shelby-Rising City. Stewart won fourth-place.
285: Xander Albin pinned Johnstone of Cedar Bluffs; pinned Hergott of Thayer Central; won 3-2 over Wheeler of Nebraska Christian and lost by pin to Psota of Ravenna. Albin won second-place.

For more photos of local sports events, be sure to check out the SmugMug: